For more than two decades, Brevity: A Journal of Concise Literary Nonfiction has published well-known and emerging writers working in the extremely brief essay form, along with craft essays and book reviews. Though still committed to the mission of publishing new writers, Brevity has been fortunate over the years to include the work of three Pulitzer prize finalists, numerous NEA fellows, Pushcart winners, Best American authors, and writers from India, Egypt, Ireland, Spain, Malaysia, and Japan. Authors published in Brevity include Abigail Thomas, Lia Purpura, Roxane Gay, Diane Seuss, Jennifer Finney Boylan, Steven Barthelme, Joe Mackall, Ander Monson, Caitlin Horrocks, Jennifer Percy, Jon Pineda, Brenda Miller, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Robin Hemley, David L. Ulin, Heather Sellers, Matthew Gavin Frank, Lee Martin, Rebecca McClanahan, Barbara Hurd, Bret Lott, Ira Sukrungruang, Rigoberto González, Judith Kitchen, Michael Martone, and Jenny Boully.

Work from Brevity has been anthologized and reprinted in venues including Creative Nonfiction, Fourth Genre, Utne Reader, the Short Takes anthology, the Best Creative Nonfiction anthology, and many recent writing textbooks.

Over the past year Brevity drew more than 13,000 unique visitors per month, while the Brevity Blog currently has more than 52,000 followers.


Questions (but not submissions) can be sent along to our e-mail address brevitymag(at)  All submissions must come though our Submissions page.

Photo from our Recent Staff Retreat


Editor-in-Chief: Dinty W. Moore

Managing Editor: Zoë Bossiere

Assistant Managing Editor: Amie Reilly

Book Review Editor: Debbie Hagan

Craft Editor: Julie Riddle

Social Media Editor: Allison Williams

Assistant Editors: Ruth Bolster, Patricia Calderwood, Ivan Cartagena, Anna Chotlos, Kristen Dalli, Julia Davis, Madeline DeLuca, Emily Dillon, Casey Ford, Kate Fussner, Sarah Haak, Holly Hagman, Nicole Heller, Colin Hosten, Natalie Kinkade, Jennifer Lang, Susan Lerner, Jenn Mariano, Kim McElhatten, Meg McGovern, Renee Newberry, Samantha Price, Morgan Riedl, Kaitlyn Tatulli, Beth Tillman, Stacie Worrel, Ryder Ziebarth.

Special Projects Editor: Sarah Einstein

Copy Editor: Sharon DeBartolo Carmack

Yoga Teacher: Mahatma Kane Jeeves

BREVITY copyright ©  2021
authors retain copyright over individual works

Our ISSN: 1545-6595